Skip to main content

New Elected Members form West Arnhem Regional Council

13 September 2017

The new Elected Members for West Arnhem Regional Council came together for the first Ordinary Council Meeting on Wednesday, September 13.


The twelve Elected Members who will form West Arnhem Regional Council for the next four years are: 


Ralph Blyth
Anna Egerton
Elizabeth Williams


Valda Bokmakarray
Julius Don Kernan
Matthew Ryan
Helen Williams


Otto Dann
Davison Nawirridj
Karl Srdinsek


James Marrawal
Philip Wasaga


The first order of business for the new Council was to elect the Mayor and Deputy Mayor, with Council electing Councillor Matthew Ryan as Mayor and Councillor Anna Egerton as Deputy Mayor.

West Arnhem Regional Council Chief Executive Officer Brian Hylands wished to congratulate Mayor Ryan, Deputy Mayor Egerton and all Elected Members, and looks forward to working collaboratively to ensure a strong future for the region.

“We look forward to working together to improve and grow our communities as well as continuing to deliver key projects and services,” Mr Hylands said.

He also wished to thank all outgoing councillors for their commitment and dedication to the people of West Arnhem during the previous term. Mayor Ryan has held the position of Councillor for Maningrida Ward since West Arnhem Regional Council was established, as West Arnhem Shire Council, in 2008. Prior to the Shire days, Matthew was a Councillor with the Maningrida Council.


West Arnhem Regional Council Wards cover the following communities:
Barrah Ward – includes Minjilang and Warruwi communities;
Maningrida Ward – includes Maningrida community;
Gunbalanya Ward – includes Gunbalanya community;
Kakadu Ward – includes Jabiru community.


All results for the 2017 NT Council elections can be found at the Northern Territory Electoral Commission website.


Read more about our Councillors..